Gyasi Zardes – Giving Back to Hawthorne


I have to admit that I did not know who Gyasi Zardes was until I read an article about him in this morning’s LA Times.

Gyasi Zardes

Since one of my granddaughter, Lucy, plays soccer, I do follow her exploits, and to a lesser extent women’s soccer. But I do not know much about the sport beyond that. I do not follow the local Galaxy MLS team. Additionally, I have never even heard of futsal.

This article introduced me to Gyasi Zardes and the great work he is doing for Hawthorne and kids growing up there. Gyasi went to Leuzinger, staring in both soccer and football.

Reading this article brought back many fond memories of Hawthorne and the surrounding area. I was a coach at Memorial Park for the Hawthorne Parks and Recreation Department during college. I also grow up in Moneta Gardens – an unincorporated part of Hawthorne. Things were different then.

As it turns out, about a week ago I dropped by a life celebration for John Baker, the father of www.cougartown.com. This website is a must place to visit for anyone wanting to relive growing up in the South Bay.

IMG_4804_edited-1

The gathering was held at the Fosters Freeze (yes its still there) near 119th and Hawthorne Blvd. This was the local hangout for Hawthorne High students, where we from Leuzinger tended to gather at A&W – at least I did.

IMG_4802_edited-1

Almost right across Hawthorne is Chips restaurant – one of my favorite places to end a date. Much has changed along the boulevard since the 60s, but these two landmarks have endured.

One thought on “Gyasi Zardes – Giving Back to Hawthorne

  1. I attended four Lawndale schools starting Kindergarden in 1950 at FDR and continuing on through the 8th grade at Will Rodgers.. And on to Leuzinger High School.back then I dont recall the sport of Soccor being played in the 1950’s in the South Bay. However I thank Gyasi Zardes for giving back to the community of Hawthorne the city I grew up in..

Leave a Reply

