The Way We Were Page Added


Hi Everyone,

I have just added the subject new page. It’s a slide show of our senior pictures from the Pylon. The slide show can be viewed full screen with reasonably good quality. However, you will probably have to recognize the person in the picture, since the writing is not very clear at all.

The presentation also includes background music, and the address I gave at our graduation. I came across the speech in an old audio tape my dad had made shortly before graduation. He called me out back to his worshop  and asked me to recite it for a letter on tape he was making for my grandmother. The speech is not that good, nor presented that well. However, it does give a glimpse into what we were thinking about in June 1963.

I would like to think that the “we” above is  appropriate. I’m sure my assignment and intent was to reflect our  class. However, you have to remember that it was given by a future engineer, and thus science and technology were prominately mentioned.

Vietnam, the Civil Rights Movement, and the assasinations of JFK, Martin Luther King, and Robert Kennedy had not happened yet. In fact, June 1963 was probably more like the Fifties than  what was to await us as we moved further into the decade.  

Until next time,

Don

One thought on “The Way We Were Page Added

  1. Hey Don, still holden things together huh? I moved to the high desert ( Oak Hills ) close to Hesperia, last Aug. 12404 Mission st. Oak Hills, Ca. 92344. Retired 2 yrs. ago. Ride my mtn. bike. go fishin and visit grnkids in Texas and Colo. about 3 times a yr. 7-8-09

Leave a Reply

